Does Snickers Have Nougat? (Answered)

Yes, Snickers has nougat. The nougat portion of Snickers is the bottom interior layer of the candy bar.

The image below from Snickers shows the various layers of its candy bar including the fluffy nougat layer. On top of the nougat sits a layer of peanuts and caramel. The nougat, peanuts, and caramel are then surrounded by milk chocolate.

This image from the Twitter Snickers account shows exactly where the nougat sits in the candy bar. The nougat takes up about half or maybe a little less of the interior of this candy bar. Its soft and airy texture helps balance the crunchiness from the peanut, gooiness from the caramel, and is a delicious compliment to the out layer of chocolate.

There are various thoughts online about what ingredients are in Snickers nougat.

This article from states that the nougat base is made from egg whites, sugar, and vanilla. The articles goes on to say that this mixture is called “frap” by the manufacturer, Mars Wrigley.

The website Cook’s Info states it is made with egg white, corn syrup, sugar, and salt.

Finally, a Food Network video titled How Snickers Chocolate Bars are Made discusses the ingredients of the nougat starting at the 2:18 mark. A Snickers expert claims the nougat is made with milk, sugar, and eggs.

Actually, they are all wrong! As Snicker explains below, its nougat comes from a place called “Nougat Meadows”. Hey, we want to go there!!!

All kidding aside, we reached out to Mars Wrigley to see if they would disclose the ingredients of its Snickers nougat. The company was gracious enough to provide a response to our inquiry. Mars indicated to us that the nougat is made of egg whites, sugar syrup, and flavoring ingredients which they didn’t provide the specifics on.

Nevertheless, these are the ingredients of a Snickers bar as disclosed on its packaging:

Snickers Ingredients: Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Peanuts, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Skim Milk, Lactose, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial Flavor.

If you are looking for more candy bars with nougat, check out our article titled What Candy Bars Have Nougat?.