Does Milky Way Have Peanuts? – Answered

A Milky Way candy bar does not have peanuts. However, the Milky Way website states that it “may contain peanuts”. It is made in a facility that produces other products with peanuts. This means that there is a risk of cross-contamination.

If consuming peanuts is a concern for you, be aware that peanuts inadvertently may be in your Milk Way. Although the amount of peanuts is likely minimal in any given Milky Way, people with peanut allergies may still have issues consuming this candy bar.

Milky Way Ingredients

The ingredients for a Milky Way are reflected below. You will notice no peanut ingredients.

Ingredients: Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Chocolate, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavor), Corn Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Skim Milk, Less Than 2% – Milkfat, Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Barley Malt Extract, Lactose, Salt, Egg Whites, Chocolate, Artificial Flavor.

Milky Way With Peanuts?

If you think a Milky Way with peanuts sounds good, you are essentially thinking of a Snickers. Keep in mind that both candy bars are owned by the enormous candy manufacturer, Mars Wrigley. Add peanuts to a Milky Way and you have something similar to a Snickers or arguably an actual Snickers bar.

The below Twitter post from Milky Way helps spur the argument whether Milky Way is a Snickers without peanuts:

See our article on Milky Way vs Snickers for more details on these two classic candy bars. Be sure to vote for your favorite in our poll at the end of that article.

Image Credit – Willis Lam/flickr