Cheez-It, often called “Cheez-Its”, are one of the most popular cheese crackers in the United States. Recent annual sales data of the Cheez-It brand revealed that it pulled in approximately $1.5 billion in sales. In other words, a lot of people are eating Cheez-It crackers and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future.
Given the popularity of the Cheez-It brand, people often wonder if these crackers have dairy. This might seem like a silly question considering the word “cheese” is in the product name. Cheese, of course, is made from milk making it a dairy product. However, American products aren’t always what they seem to be when it comes to their brand name.
Do Cheez-It Crackers Have Dairy?
So, do Cheez-It crackers have cheese or other sources of dairy? Yes, Cheez-Its have dairy from cheese used as an ingredient.
We listed the ingredients below for Original Cheez-It crackers showing the cheese ingredient reflected in bold. Additionally, the bottom table reflects every Cheez-It variety at the time of this article and whether or not they have dairy. All products listed have dairy from cheese.
Cheez-It Original ingredients:
Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), vegetable oil (high oleic soybean, soybean, palm, and/or canola oil with TBHQ for freshness), cheese made with skim milk (skim milk, whey protein, salt, cheese cultures, enzymes, annatto extract color). Contains 2% or less of salt, paprika, yeast, paprika extract color, soy lecithin.
|Cheez-It Product||Dairy (yes or no?)|
|Italian Four Cheese||Yes|
|Hot & Spicy||Yes|
|Reduced Fat Ordinal||Yes|
|Snap’d Double Cheese||Yes|
|Snap’d Cheddar Sour Cream & Onion||Yes|
|Snap’d Jalapeno Jack||Yes|
|Grooves Original Cheddar||Yes|
|Grooves Sharp White Cheddar||Yes|
|Grooves Loaded Cheesy Taco||Yes|
|Grooves Zesty Cheddar Ranch||Yes|
|Snack Mix Double Cheese||Yes|
|Sweet & Salty Snack Mix||Yes|