Do Lucky Charms Have Gelatin? – Answered

Marshmallow Cereal

Lucky Charms is one of the top ten most popular cereals in the United States based on sales. Naturally, many questions surface regarding this cereal including whether it contains gelatin? Read on for a quick answer.

Is There Gelatin in Lucky Charms?

Yes, Lucky Charms cereal has gelatin. The marshmallows or marbits contain gelatin which is a common ingredient used to make marshmallows.

The gelatin used to make Lucky Charms marshmallows is derived from pork collagen. Of course, this means the cereal is not halal, and not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. General Mills, the manufacturer, indicates that collagen is tasteless and clear. There should be no worries about your Lucky Charms tasting like pork due to the gelatin.

General Mills, the manufacturer, has confirmed on Twitter and on its website that the gelatin in Lucky Charms is made using pork collagen:

General Mills states the following cereals produced by the company contain marbits and therefore they also have gelatin made with pork collagen:

  • Lucky Charms
  • Chocolate Lucky Charms
  • Count Chocula
  • Boo Berry
  • Frankenberry

Homemade Vegan Lucky Charms

If you want to enjoy a cereal similar to Lucky Charms without the gelatin, you can make your own vegan Lucky Charms. Here are a couple of recipes you may wish to try:

Final Thoughts

You should be cautious about eating any cereal with marshmallows if you are looking to avoid gelatin. As previously indicated, marshmallows are notorious for having gelatin made with animal products. Lucky Charms is no exception. Stay away from it if you don’t want to consume gelatin.

image credit – m01229/flickr