Do Milky Ways Have Caramel? (Answered)

Milky Way is one of the most popular candy bars in the world. However, the answer to the question, “Do Milky Ways have caramel?” is a bit complicated, as it depends on where the Milky Way is made.

The version of the Milky Way found in the United States has different ingredient from Milky Way bars found outside of the country. Below you will learn about the ingredients of Milky Way bars found around the world and specifically if they are a candy bars with caramel.

Milky Way & Caramel (U.S. Version)

Milky Ways that are made for the Unites States market do contain caramel. Caramel is one of the main ingredients in these candy bars, along with nougat and chocolate. The caramel is a soft, creamy filling that adds a sweet and rich flavor to the candy.

You can see the caramel inside a U.S. Milky Way in the image below. The caramel sits on top of the fluffy nougat in the interior of this candy bar. The caramel and nougat are surrounded by a layer of milk chocolate.

Mar Incorporated, the manufacturer of Milky Way, does not specifically indicate the ingredients of the caramel in Milky Way bars. However, a review of its ingredients (see below) shows it is likely made of at least corn syrup, sugar, and milk.

U.S. Milky Way Ingredients: Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Chocolate, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavor), Corn Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Skim Milk, Less Than 2% – Milkfat, Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Barley Malt Extract, Lactose, Salt, Egg Whites, Chocolate, Artificial Flavor.

The major food allergens that are of a potential concern for some people with allergies are milk, egg, and soy. However, ingredients can change without notice so check the ingredients on the label if allergens are a concern for you.

Milky Way & Caramel (Outside of U.S. Version)

The Milky Way candy bars sold outside of the United States do not have caramel. They are what most Americans know as a 3 Musketeers. You can see the version of the global Milky Way candy bar in the image below.

You’re probably wondering why the Milky Way that Americans are familiar with isn’t sold outside of the United States. Well, it is, but it isn’t called a Milky Way. The Milky Way sold outside of the U.S. is called the Mars bar. Yeah, Mars Inc. made things pretty complicated!

Do All U.S. Milky Way Varieties Have Caramel?

According to the U.S. Milky Way website, the four varieties of Milky Way that are currently produced are Original, Midnight, Salted Caramel, and Cookie Dough. All of these bars have caramel in them.

Here are the main components of each U.S. Milky Way bar:

  • Original – milk chocolate, caramel, & nougat.
  • Midnight – dark chocolate, caramel, vanilla nougat.
  • Salted Caramel – milk chocolate, caramel, crunchy salt, nougat.
  • Cookie Dough – milk chocolate, caramel, cookie dough-flavored nougat.

image credit – willis lam/flickr